Train breaks silence on bassist Charlie Colin’s shocking death at 58: ‘Legend’

Train is honoring one of their own.

The band released a statement Wednesday after news broke that founding member and bassist Charlie Colin died at the age of 58.

“When I met Charlie Colin, front left, I fell in love with him,” began the statement, shared on the band’sX and Instagram accounts.

“He was THE sweetest guy and what a handsome chap. Let’s make a band that’s the only reasonable thing to do,” the group continued. “His unique bass playing a beautiful guitar work helped get folks to notice us in SF and beyond. I’ll always have a warm place for him in my heart. I always tried to pull him closer but he had a vision of his own.”

Train added: “You’re a legend, Charlie. Go charm the pants off those angels.”

The tribute featured a black-and-white photo of the band’s original members: Colin, Pat Monahan, Rob Hotchkiss, Jimmy Stafford and Scott Underwood.

The San Francisco band formed in the ’90s and their breakout album was 1998’s “Train.” 

Train is best known for the hit songs “Drops of Jupiter” and “Hey, Soul Sister.” 

TMZ reported Wednesday that Colin died after he slipped and fell in the shower while house-sitting for a friend in Brussels, according to the musician’s mother. 

He was found when his friends returned home from their trip, she said. 

Originally from Newport Beach, Calif., Colin was a member of Train from the band’s formation until 2003, after they won two Grammys in 2002. 

He reportedly left due to substance abuse issues.

“There was a lot of things that led to me leaving, but it really escalated into it,” Colin said last year in an interview with “Delphine’s Circle.” “We never took a break. We drove our tour bus into the parking lot of the recording studio for our second and third record. In Philadelphia, we made our one-and-a-half record … We just never stopped. It’s kind of one those things where you feel like this is too good to be true. Most bands have a lifespan of a few years.”

As of this year, Train consists of Monahan, Taylor Locke, Hector Maldonado, Jerry Becker and Matt Musty. 

Leave a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *